US Masters History Guide – Golf’s Biggest Tournament

The US Masters was first held 1934 and was won by Horton Smith. It was called the Augusta National Invitational at that point but has carried its current name since 1939. It was created after their application to host a US Open event was rejected due to concerns over the hot climate in Georgia during the summer.

Masters History

Whilst the Masters was not held during 1943 to 1945 due to the war the course was used to raise cattle and turkeys to assist the war effort.  We also have a great preview for the 2020 Masters including info on any fantastic betting promotions on offer for this event.

One of the most famous early competitions was in 1935 when Gene Sarazan hit the “shot heard around the world” when he hit an albatross on the 15th. This ended up forcing him into a play-off which he won.  

The 1960’s and 1970’s were dominated by Arnold Palmer, Gary Player and Jack Nicklaus. They won the event eleven times between them between 1960 and 1978.   

Whilst Gary Player was the first non-American to win the event, this became far more common by the 1980’s. In fact, 11 of the 20 winners in the 1980’s and 1990’s were from outside of the home nation. Seve Ballesteros became the first European to win the event whilst Nick Faldo managed to win it three times. One American to win the event during this time was Tiger Woods who won his first Green Jacket in 1997.  

The first left-hander to win the competition was Mike Weir in 2003. He was also the first Canadian to become successful. Coincidentally it was also won by a left-hander the following year when Phil Mickelson won the first of his three green jackets.  

The most recent winner was of course Tiger Woods, he defied the Masters 2019 betting tips by winning his first green jacket since 2005. It is the high profile issues he had in his life since that time which made the win all the more remarkable.  

US Masters Records

Most Wins – Jack Nicklaus (6)  

Oldest Winner – Jack Nicklaus (46 Years in 1986)  

Youngest Winner – Tiger Woods (21 Years in 1997)  

Biggest Winning Margin – Tiger Woods (12 Strokes in 1997)  

Lowest Winning Score – Tiger Woods & Jordan Spieth (-18 in 1997 and 2015)  

Most Appearances – Gary Player (52)  

Course Record – Nick Price & Greg Norman (63 in 1986 and 1996)  

Highest Winning Score – Zach Johnson (+1 in 2007)  

Winners In Three Separate Decades – Jack Nicklaus & Tiger Woods  

About Joe Kizlauskas

Joe is a seasoned iGaming copywriter and speaker who has been in the business since 2015. He's written more words on all elements of Casinos, Slots, Bingo & Sports Betting than he likes to remember, and he's contributed material to a number of well-known brands. Joe may be seen playing 5 a side, at the gym or playing games on his Playstation when he is not writing.