Premier League Predictions

Premier League Logo

If you are a massive fan of the Premier League and looking for expert tips and Premier League predictions for this weekend’s fixtures during December then you’ve come to the right place.

The Premier League began in 1992/93, preceded by the Football League First Division, which was established in 1888. The league today retains the title of the world’s best football league.

The Premier League is regarded as the biggest and best football league in world football and is the top division in the English football pyramid. It features the top 20 teams in English football each season, all of whom are competing to be crowned champions of England at the top and avoid being one of the three teams at the bottom to be relegated.

Current Premier League Teams

Each year there is relegation and promotion to the Premier League; for the teams coming up to the Premier League from the Championship, it represents an excellent opportunity to mix it with the big boys and a huge financial benefit to them.

We’ve listed below the predictions page for each of the clubs in the Premier League below, featuring predictions for all of their matches in the Premier League this season.

How does the Premier League work?

As previously mentioned, the top 20 teams in England compete in the Premier League each season. Three new teams enter the Premier League each season via winning promotion from the Championship, which is the second tier of English football. The bottom three teams in the Premier League are in turn relegated to the Championship for the following season.

The Premier League works in a double round-robin system, with each team playing each other twice over the course of the season — once at home and once away. This means each team has 38 matches to play and the table will be reflected on the number of points accumulated over the course of the campaign.

Teams receive three points to their points total for a win, one for a draw and zero for a defeat. All 20 entrants are ranked on their total number of points, then goal difference, then goals scored. Should all of these factors be level amongst teams that are competing for the Premier League title, European qualification or relegation, it will then come down to the head-to-head meetings between the two teams across the season. Should they still be tied, it will then come down to a one-off play-off match between the two level teams to decide league position.

There are seven different European competition places up for grabs each season in England. There are four available for Europe’s elite club competition, the Champions League, which can be secured by finishing in the top four of the Premier League table. The team that then finishes fifth in the Premier League will earn automatic qualification into the Europa League.

There are a further two European places up for grabs in England, both of which are decided by the winners of the domestic cups. The FA Cup winners will enter the group stages of the Europa League, while the League Cup winners will qualify for the Europa Conference League play-off round. However, if the winners of both competitions have already qualified for European football via their league position, the teams placed in 6th and 7th will be awarded those European places respectively.

Premier League Winners

  • 1992/93 – Manchester United
  • 1993/94 – Manchester United
  • 1994/95 – Blackburn Rovers
  • 1995/96 – Manchester United
  • 1996/97 – Manchester United
  • 1997/98 – Arsenal
  • 1998/99 – Manchester United
  • 1999/00 – Manchester United
  • 2000/01 – Manchester United
  • 2001/02 – Arsenal
  • 2002/03 – Manchester United
  • 2003/04 – Arsenal
  • 2004/05 – Chelsea
  • 2005/06 – Chelsea
  • 2006/07 – Manchester United
  • 2007/08 – Manchester United
  • 2008/09 – Manchester United
  • 2009/10 – Chelsea
  • 2010/11 – Manchester United
  • 2011/12 – Manchester City
  • 2012/13 – Manchester United
  • 2013/14 – Manchester City
  • 2014/15 – Chelsea
  • 2015/16 – Leicester City
  • 2016/17 – Chelsea
  • 2017/18 – Manchester City
  • 2018/19 – Manchester City
  • 2019/20 – Liverpool
  • 2020/21 – Manchester City
  • 2021/22 – Manchester City