Huddersfield Predictions

Find the best betting odds and Championship predictions of all of Huddersfield’s matches in the league below.

Huddersfield Town Football Club is a professional English football club based in the town of Huddersfield. The club currently competes in the Championship, which is the second tier of the English football pyramid and are nicknamed the Terriers.

Huddersfield currently plays their matches at the John Smith’s Stadium, which has been their home ground since 1994 and replaced their former ground, Leeds Road. The ground is also home to Rugby League side Huddersfield Giants and has a maximum attendance of 24,169. It was first known as the Kirklees Stadium, which is still the official name of the stadium without the naming rights.

Huddersfield’s biggest rivals are fellow Yorkshire clubs Bradford City and Leeds United.

Huddersfield Honours

Huddersfield have a rich list of honours behind them, the most notable being three titles in the old First Division. Each of these three titles came in successive seasons too, back in the 1920s. Their first-ever First Division title, came in the 1923/24 season when they pipped Cardiff City to the title on goal ratio after both teams finished level on points. Huddersfield defended their title in the following season, this time seeing off the challenge of West Bromwich Albion to win their second title in as many years. They managed a hat-trick of successive First Division titles in the 1925/26 season, with Arsenal being runners-up to the Yorkshire side this time around.

During this decade they also won the FA Cup for the only time in their history, beating Preston North End 1-0 in the final. Huddersfield have also won the Second and Fourth Division titles in their history, winning each division once. Their sole Second Division title came in the 1969/70 season when they were promoted alongside Blackpool. They won the Fourth Division title 10 years later in 1979/80. Huddersfield’s trophy haul is completed with the 1922 Charity Shield.

Huddersfield History

Huddersfield Town was founded in 1908, initially competing in the North Eastern League and Midland League before joining the Football League in 1910. It took them 10 years to become a First Division side in the 1920/21 campaign, but this signalled the most historic spell in the club’s history, as Herbert Chapman became the club’s manager in 1921. They went on to be winners of the FA Cup in 1922, before then winning three league titles in a row between 1923/24 to 1925/26, the first two under Chapman and the third under Cecil Potter. They also finished as runners-up in each of the next two seasons, as well as in the 1933/34 campaign. Huddersfield also missed out on the chance to add more FA Cups to their trophy room after losing the 1920, 1928, 1930 and 1938 finals.

However, those glory days were a distant memory when football returned in the aftermath of the Second World War. They were regularly competing at the bottom end of the First Division table and eventually suffered relegation to the Second Division. Their last season in the old First Division came in 1971/72, with three relegations in four years seeing them become a Fourth Division side by 1975/76. The years that followed saw them compete mostly in the second and third tiers of English football before reaching the Premier League for the first time in the 2017/18 season under David Wagner.