World Cup betting odds

The World Cup

The Football World Cup is the biggest sporting competition on earth and it is estimated that 1 in 3 people watch it. That also means that World Cup betting is massively popular and many people place World Cup bets. Each bookmaker offers different World Cup betting odds, but they all compete to attract more customers.

The competition involves 32 teams who compete for the highly prestigious trophy in the final.

The World Cup has been played every 4 years since it started in 1930, except during the Second World War.

During the World Cup period, matches will appear here:

  • Partick v St Mirren
    Football Matches from Scottish Premiership Matches. Kick-off: 2015-01-30 19:45:00

  • Hull v Newcastle
    Football Matches from Premier League Matches. Kick-off: 2015-01-31 12:45:00

  • Stoke v QPR
    Football Matches from Premier League Matches. Kick-off: 2015-01-31 15:00:00

History of the World Cup

Lucien Laurent (France) scored the first ever World Cup goal in France’s opening match against Belgium in the group state. However the first World Cup was won by Uruguay in 1930 who defeated Argentina in the final.

Between 1930 and 1970 the Jules Rimet Trophy was given to the winner. In 1970 Brazil won the World Cup for the 3rd time and this entitled them to keep the trophy.
The new World Cup trophy is the version we know today, and each winning nation keeps it until the next tournament and are then given a gold-plated replica.


If you want the best World Cup betting odds, Betfair will have them. Thousands of betting markets and the option to lay bets as well make this one of the best places your World Cup bets.

Join here today!

Brazil currently hold the record for the most titles (5). The previous winners starting from 1930 are listed below.

Year Nation
2010 Spain
2006 Italy
2002 Brazil
1998 France
1994 Brazil
1990 West Germany
1986 Argentina
1982 Italy
1978 Argentina
1974 West Germany
1970 Brazil
1966 England
1962 Brazil
1958 Brazil
1954 West Germany
1950 Uruguay
1938 Italy
1934 Italy
1930 Uruguay

Analysing previous winners can sometimes help you decide your World Cup bets.

World Cup Qualification

In the three years leading up to a World Cup qualifying tournaments are held in 8 continental zones – Europe, AfricaNorth and Central America and Caribbean, South America, , Asia and Oceania. Each zone is awarded a number of places depending on the strength of national teams. 32 teams progress to the World Cup finals.

World Cup finals

In the World Cup finals the 32 teams that qualified compete in a group stage with 8 groups of 4 teams. The teams in each group play each other in a round-robin format and the best two teams from each group progress to the knockout stages.

In the knockout stages each team plays a single match where one team is eliminated and one team progresses to the next round. The knockout stages progress through the last 16, quarter-finals, semi-finals, third-place and the final.

World Cup betting

World Cup bet markets open fairly early, but the odds are usually only for the winners market. Odds on the golden boot and other markets start to open up soon after. Then closer to the event World Cup betting odds on individual matches become available.

As the World Cup betting is very popular, bookmakers make lots of markets available for the event. Odds jump around a lot during qualifying and before the group draws, but once it is known who will make up each group the odds usually remain stable for a while until the tournament begins. After the first match and the initial form of the teams is known, the World Cup betting odds start to jump around again.

All bookmakers want to attract lots of bets on the World Cup, so provide lots of offers and free bets for customers.

Posted by: wayneroo May 6, 2010